Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Closed Thread

Old 04-04-2009, 08:43 PM   #1
Site Team

Garage
Death Valley Group Run part 1-3

Here is a trip report that 4 of us took in late February and early March of this year. I must apologize for posting it so late. I’m not very good with computers and never did figure out how to link via attachments. Maybe one of these days I’ll get the hang of it. I did it the hard way and posted the pictures in my album. Next time I plan to post a link to my own trip report web site. Being I wrote it for my site, it’s rather long (not a mini-report) so I put the report in parts to keep download times down.

For those of you who are lurkers, the pictures will not be visible. Joining the group is free so why not join the Forum? But for those of you who do not wish to join, this post can be viewed at my site here: http://autoramblings.com/sportsmobile/?p=4762

SMB Death Valley Run 2009: Nor-Cal to Red Rock Canyon State Park.

In early January CellularSteve sent me a PM inviting me to join him and a couple other fellow SMB owners to meet at Death Valley during late February and do some off roading in the park. Mengel Pass via Goler Wash was high on the list but anywhere around Death Valley was OK with me. The plan was to meet up at Ballarat and go from there. I contacted a friend who off roads with me frequently (Don) and we loaded up for the trip. Don and I have covered quite a bit of DV during the past few years but Mengel had eluded us during our past travels.
Being DV is a good 8 hour trip from Nor-Cal, we left out 1 day before the rest of the group. Red Rock State Park has always been a reasonable spot to layover at and helps to break up the long drive. We arrived about 4:30 PM and the wind was howling. No fire for us that night.

In the morning we had a little espresso and loaded up and headed out.